What ever happened to Sunday’s?

Handsome in Blue

Handsome in Blue

Keeping my back at the bank

Keeping my back at the bank

Helping in the kitchen

Helping in the kitchen

Strike a pose.

Strike a pose.

Are we there yet?

Are we there yet?

Pretty in Blue

Pretty in Blue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was wondering. the other day. And the thought that I was wondering was, what ever happened to Sunday’s? Sundays used to be quiet days. Kids were taught that it was a quiet day. No screaming or yelling or loud play. Don’t bug the neighbours, they like their sundays to be quiet. The shops were mostly shut on Sundays. No one mowed their lawn on Sundays. Now I know that he whole sunday thing was because people went to church and the rest of the day was supposed be left to quiet reflection of what learned while at church. But with those days gone, and most of the population not even attending church (which I don’t either mind you), and businesses taking over and being open all weekend now, so has the quiet. Having the old school parents I did, I had it drilled into me that Sundays were quiet days. And being Aspergian as I am, I always follow the rules, and get very agitated and frustrated and upset when no one else follows the same rules I do. So you can imagine how discombobulated I get when my neighbours don’t follow the Sunday rule as I do. What with loud music being played in the early morning, so if you wanted to you couldn’t even get a sleep in (no I don’t sleep in. My body wont let me unfortunately. Always waking me up with pain and body cramps early. Pain in the you know where) and then the lawn mowing and the whipper snippering, and the boat engines and goodness knows what else. Sigh. I guess being Aspie, I crave that one day a week to have for quiet. Some peace from the chaotic world that im always finding myself struggling through. I know that AsperBoy benefits from a day of quiet after a busy week. And as he goes up year by year at school, it will only get busier. So he will need to have time for just quiet. To let his brain reboot, defrag and drain out the excess GAHHHHHH! So Im endeavouring to get him into having that as part of his routine now. He has been suffering from more anxiety of late. Which started when he commenced having one night a week sleep over at his dad’s. He has had had more than one anxiety/panic attack at school where they couldn’t calm him down. And what with food reactions having sick and coughing for two weeks, bad dreams kicking off again, he is all over the place. He has even started asking me to have Kobash at school with him. He grabs on to Kobash and doesn’t want to let him go. If he continues to have problems like these as he gets older and goes into high school, I have no problem looking into a service dog for him then. If he needs one. I know the benefits, and how much Kobash has helped me. But he will have to be older I think before that happens. Tony Attwood is holding another of his fabulous conferences toward the end of the year. And I am going to see if I can some help in being able to go. Its not cheap. And I usually miss out on going because of that reason. But this one I really think I need to go to. Its titled, emotion management in children and teens with ASC. Very timely. I had already been thinking about getting AsperBoy help with working through and working out his sensory sensitivities. And also something to help work through his escalating anxiety. So this couldn’t have come up at a  more opportune time. Anything to help him have an easier time of things. The world is a harsh enough place, and only getting worse all the time, with out having to go through it with the problems he have. That all of us on the spectrum have. I must say I am grateful that I am also Aspergian, in that I can help him to navigate things a little better then he would be able to otherwise. And also serve as a ‘translator’ for him when needed.

With all these things on my mind, I’m grateful that I’m able have some quiet days at home during the week. My Sunday has now become my Tuesday and or Wednesday. Those are my defragging days. Today, though, I spent in and out of the house. I gave the book id finished reading to my mum to read. She likes to keep up with the new stuff on the Asperger front. I highlighted all the parts that I thought pertained to me as I always do. I’m grateful that she wants to know. Then off for coffee to help me get through the rest of my errands at the local shops. Thankfully I had the two of the best companions with me. Kobash on my right, and Nova on my left. Nova couldn’t come into the shops with me, but I did take her to the café with me. Surprisingly I had the right change for what I wanted, so one of the baristas took my order and brought me my coffee without my needing to go inside. So I didn’t have to tie Nova up out the front somewhere like I thought I would have to when I arrived there. She waited in the car for us while I did my errands. She doesn’t care if she does, as long as I take her with us sometimes. She feels left out when I take Kobash out without her. I don’t blame her. But she her treats when I get home so she knows that I don’t forget her.

Right now, with Kobash at my side, burping softly away after his dinner, Nova parked out on her couch. AsperBoy is at his grandmas practising a song that he is going to sing with her at our next bbq, This is to make up for missing out on being able to preform at his schools talent show. Something that he was looking forward to very much. He was quite devastated when he found out he didn’t get through. But then the whole thing was all mixed up, with me not having the right dates for the first auditions. He will have another go at it next year. Hopeful we will be ore prepared then.

Oh well. I suppose id better get dinner on. Oh how I miss take out! Stupid celiac disease and dairy/soy/canola allergies!

Leave a Reply

